Department of Western Languages and Literatures

The undergraduate and graduate programmes in the Department of Western Languages and Literatures are designed to analyze the culture, literature, history, philosophy, religion, art, politics and the social life of Western Cultures in general and of Britain in particular. The main objective of the courses is to enable the students to study not only essential, literary and cultural traditions but also contemporary popular culture, including critical theory within a multidisciplinary context. In addition, the Department also offers a preparatory programme in which students upgrade their language proficiency by taking courses to develop their reading, writing, speaking and listening skills. Each student who enrols in the Department should pass the proficiency exam. The Department offers undergraduate and graduate programmes in English Language and Literature and is about to start an undergraduate program in German Language and Literature.

The programmes give students the opportunity to develop their research and critical thinking capacities by analyzing written texts. Besides, the students are encouraged to search the social context and the historical, cultural and philosophical background of the western cultures as well as their reflections on literary texts. Students are also required to take elective courses in linguistics and translation in order to develop their language proficiency. Courses such as Rhetoric and Research Techniques enhance students’ scientific research capacity.


Both undergraduate and graduate programmes in English Language and Literature are designed to study literature, history, philosophy, religion, arts, politics and social life pertaining to British Culture in particular and Western world at large. The courses aim at enabling students to engage in multi-disciplinary study by providing input in fields such as established literary and cultural traditions, contemporary and popular culture, and critical theory. The department also offers a Preparatory programme in English to the students so that they can improve their competency in English by taking courses that are tailored to improve their skills like reading, listening, writing and speaking. All students to be admitted into the department are required to take a proficiency or exemption test in English. The graduates of the department find employment opportunities as instructors of English, translators and civil servants as well as in sectors including finance, advertisement, mass media and tourism.


The principal aim of the department is to enable students to have the opportunity to study and analyse various literary and critical pieces by taking courses in four major literary genres. In addition to carrying out generic analysis, students are also encouraged to examine the social context and to trace the historical, cultural and philosophical background reflected in the works. Apart from literature and culture courses, the department also offers courses in linguistics and translation studies to increase students’ language competency and awareness. In order to improve their research and academic writing skills, the students are to take rhetorics and research techniques.


With the advent of Turkey’s determination to join European Union, the interest in teaching English language and literature, engaging in international affairs and carrying out editorial work has grown. The Department of Western Languages and Literatures intends to form a cultural bridge between European Union and Turkey through its well-trained students, all qualified with the required language and communicative skills as well as the capacity to ease Turkey’s adaptation process.

Admission Requirements

Success in the General Profficeny Test by the HEB ( Higher Education Board) Profficency in English (Min. Upper Intermediate Level)

Graduation Requirements

For graduation, students are expected to complete satisfactorily -with a general graduation degree of 2.00 out of 4.00, in accordance with regualations of the university- a total of 240 credits which comprises 180 ECTS of compulsory department courses, 36 ECTS of departmental elective courses and 24 ECTS of Non-departmental elective courses.