Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was founded in 1992. Our department accepts about 50 undergraduate students in every academic year. After completing their undergraduate education students can continue their graduate studies by joining M.Sc. (Master of Science) program and later Ph.D. (Doctor of Philosophy) program. The Department gives a good knowledge about applied physics as well as fundamental physics, in order to train the students as capable researchers.There are five major research fields in the department: Atomic and Molecular Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, High Energy and Plasma Physics, Mathematical Physics and Nuclear Physics.

Atomic and Molecular Physics research group mainly focuses on FTIR spectroscopy, luminance (UV) spectroscopy and electrical properties of porous silicone, electric and dielectric properties of modified clay minerals and metal oxides composites, and molecular spectroscopy.

Condensed Mater Physics group focuses on the electrical, optical and elastic properties of solid materials like polymers and metals in the Solid State Laboratory.

High Energy group studies thermal quantum chromodynamics, quantum field theory and quark gluon plasma signals.

Laser Physics group carries out their scientific work in the Laser Technologies Research and Application Center (LATARUM). LATARUM was established as a research center incorporating researchers from various fields of science and engineering with the aim of carrying out research on academic level, as well as, towards industrial applications on laser related areas. The current researchers at LATARUM come from diverse backgrounds from Department of Physics, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Mechanical Engineering. LATARUM is organized into three groups. These are the Electrooptics Group, the Laser Material Processing Group, and the Modeling and Simulation Group.

Mathematical Physics group is mainly focused on numerical modeling of heat transfer and diffusion processes, inverse problems, and supersymmetry.

The research activities of the Nuclear Physics group are mainly focused on Nuclear Astrophysics and Environmental Radioactivity. Nuclear Astrophysics is the branch of nuclear physics that deals with explaining the formation, via nuclear reactions, of all the naturally occurring chemical elements in the universe. These nucleosynthesis processes occurred during the big bang and continue to take place in all hot astrophysical objects such as stars, novae and supernovae. The group is performing its research by collaborating with The Notre Dame University (Indiana, U.S.A.) and ATOMKI (Institute of Nuclear Research of Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Debrecen, HUNGARY).

Our graduates work in various professional fields ranging from material science to medical physics. They are employed especially in research centers, research and development division of companies, quality control divisions, computer centers, medical jurisprudence, optics related fields, universities, communication centers, and hospitals. Some graduates who have a pedagogy certificate can teach physics at private or government schools.

Admission Requirements

Turkish students are accepted to the program with a central university placement test conducted as per the regulations of the Council of Higher Education. International students are accepted to the program with internationally valid exams and the admission conditions are specified by the Council of Higher Education. Exchange students are accepted within the framework of the bilateral agreement. International Relations Unit coordinates the acceptance of Exchange students; Farabi Exchange Program Unit coordinates the acceptance of national students. The admission procedures of international students are carried by Student Affairs Registrar’s Office.

Graduation Requirements

To be graduated from Department of Physics, it is necessary to complete 240 ECTS credits with compulsory and elective courses and to be succesful all of the courses.